Updating to Aperture 3.6 on El Capitan

Some of us may have not updated Aperture since Yosemite or skipped the Yosemite update, this article is for you.

If you upgraded to El Capitan or Yosemite and still has Aperture of version earlier than 3.6. You will realise that it is not possible to open the app and attempting to update result in a failure. Fear not, MacRiot has outlined the steps to updating Aperture and I will like to share it with everyone here.

Step 1) Drag Aperture to Trash but DO NOT empty the Trash
Step 2) Launch the App Store, Go to the Purchase tab and look for Aperture and click install
Step 3) After installing run Aperture to check if it is working fine. If it is fine, it is now safe to empty the Trash

Credit to MacRiot

This entry was posted in OS X and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Updating to Aperture 3.6 on El Capitan

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you so much – panic over!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sanford Porter says:

    Wow, worked great!

    Like

  3. Phil Lightwood-Jones says:

    Thanks – that seems to have worked

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joshua says:

    I have Aperture 3.4.5 and somehow it is not in the “Purchased” section of my app store. It is in my application folder and on my dock and I did buy it… but I tried to do what the thread suggested and came to realize there was no way for me to re-download. Any help would be amazing.

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    any more suggestions? need a little help from my friends.

    Like

Leave a comment